the rights of the injured
for over 30 years

Daycare negligence may cause children to suffer injuries

On Behalf of | Sep 19, 2023 | Personal Injury |

Georgia parents often have work and other obligations that prevent them from being able to watch their children 24 hours a day. That is why busy parents may choose to rely on daycare facilities to properly care for and supervise their children several days a week for several hours at a time.

While many daycares have high standards when it comes to caring for the children and go above and beyond to meet the children’s needs, there are some daycares that negligently care for the children they are supposed to be protecting.

Children are often injured because of this negligent care. Some common injuries include:

  • Playground injuries
  • Injuries caused by dangerous conditions on the premises (such as broken glass or uneven carpeting)
  • Injuries caused by bullying or fighting with other children
  • Abuse from daycare employees

What should I do if my child was injured at daycare?

If your child was injured while at daycare and you are considering filing a claim against the facility, you may want to speak to a Georgia personal injury attorney. Generally, you will have to establish negligence by showing that:

  • The daycare and/or its employees owed a duty to your child
  • The daycare and/or its employees breached the duty owed to your child
  • The daycare and/or its employees’ breach of duty caused your child’s injuries
  • Your child suffered injuries while in the care and custody of the daycare

Here are some common examples of daycare negligence:

  • Failure to properly train staff
  • Failure to properly supervise the children
  • Failure to inspect the premises for potential hazards
  • Failure to remedy hazards found on the property
  • Leaving toxic substances within reach of the children
  • Failure to provide adequate food/drink to the child

Parents should be able to trust their daycare providers. If your child was injured at a daycare, you may recover compensation for your child’s medical care and emotional distress. Under Georgia law, you will generally have two years from the date of your child’s injury to file your claim.